Press Complaints Commission
spacer spacer
SEARCH FOR     Or try the cases search  
Whos Who
Making a complaint
Code of Practice Information
Code Advice
editors' Code of practice Committee

Please note that this organisation operates independently of the Press Complaints Commission but is listed here to explain how the systems works as a whole.

The Editors' Code of Practice is reviewed periodically by a special committee of editors - the Editors' Code of Practice Committee. This Committee takes account of public and Parliamentary comment as well as of reports from the Press Complaints Commission itself. The Code is therefore constantly developing and responding quickly to changing practices and technology in the industry and to the concerns of readers.

The Editors' Code of Practice Committee has no say in the day-to-day running of the PCC, and membership of the Committee does not overlap with that of the Press Complaints Commission.

If you have suggestions for changes to the Code these should be put in writing to:

The Secretary
Editors' Code of Practice Committee
PO Box 235
Stone House
Gloucester GL10 3UF


The Code Committee also publishes the Editors' Codebook, the official handbook to the Code of Practice. This can be downloaded from the Code Committee's own website, which will also give you more information about the workings of the Committee.

For a list of changes to the Code of Practice that have been made since 1991, please click here.

Committee Members:

Paul Dacre (Chairman)
Associated Newspapers

Ian Beales
Secretary to the Committee

Damian Bates
Press & Journal, Aberdeen

Neil Benson
Trinity Mirror Plc

Lisa Burrow
Closer magazine

Geordie Greig
The Mail on Sunday

Jonathan Grun
Press Association

Ian Murray
Southern Daily Echo

Mike Sassi
Nottingham Evening Post

Hannah Walker
South London Press

Harriet Wilson
Conde Nast

John Witherow
The Times