Press Complaints Commission
spacer spacer
SEARCH FOR     Or try the cases search  
Whos Who
Making a complaint
Code of Practice Information
Code Advice


There are seventeen members of the Press Complaints Commission. A majority of them have no connection with the press - ensuring that the PCC is independent of the newspaper industry.

There are three classes of members: the Chair, Public Members (or lay) and Editorial (or industry) Members.

The independent Chair is appointed by the newspaper and magazine publishing industry. The Chair must not be engaged in or, otherwise than by his office as Chair, connected with or interested in the business of publishing newspapers, periodicals or magazines. The current Chair is Lord Hunt of Wirral.

The Public Members and Editorial Members are appointed by the Nominations Committee. None of the Public Members can be engaged in or, otherwise than by their membership of the Commission, connected with or interested in the business of publishing newspapers, periodicals or magazines. Each of the Editorial Members must be a person experienced at senior editorial level in the press.

The Commission takes the final decision about all complaints handled by the PCC, in particular those referred to it for adjudication. Editorial members do not consider complaints relating to titles over which they exercise editorial control, or relating to titles with which they have close links (e.g. sister titles). If they report to an Editor-in-Chief, they will also not consider complaints against any titles under that executive's control. To see the register of interests of Commission members, please click here.

The Commission now publishes the minutes of its meetings. These can be found here.

Commission Members

Lord Hunt of Wirral (public member)
(click here for Lord Hunt's biographical notes)

Charles Anson (public member)
Former Press Secretary, HM The Queen
Ian Carter (editorial member)
Editorial Director, Kent Messenger Group
Bob Crawley (editorial member)
Publishing Director, Archant Anglia
Lord Grade of Yarmouth CBE (public member/director)
Former BBC Chairman, Executive Chairman of ITV plc and Chief Executive of Channel 4.
Ian MacGregor

Ian MacGregor (editorial member)
Editor, The Sunday Telegraph

Donald Martin (editorial member)
Editor in Chief of Newspapers - D.C. Thomson & Co. Ltd
Lindsay Nicholson Lindsay Nicholson (editorial member)
Editorial Director, Good Housekeeping
Esther Roberton

Esther Roberton (public member)
Chair, Sacro

Simon Sapper

Simon Sapper (public member)
Assistant Secretary, Communication Workers' Union

Julie Spence OBE QPM Julie Spence OBE QPM (public member)
Former Chief Constable of Cambridgeshire Constabulary
Michael Smyth CBE Michael Smyth CBE (public member)
Former senior partner, Clifford Chance
Professor Ian Walden Professor Ian Walden (public member)
Professor of Information and Communications Law, Queen Mary, University of London
Neil Watts (public member)
Consultant Headteacher, Suffolk County Council
Peter Wright
Peter Wright (editorial member/director)
Editor Emeritus, Associated Newspapers

14/03/2013 Tina Weaver has asked to step aside from her role as a Commissioner at the PCC while inquiries continue and so will no longer consider complaints.