Press Complaints Commission Halton House, 20-23 High Holborn, EC1N 7JD
spacer spacer
SEARCH FOR     Or try the cases search  
Making a complaint
Code of Practice Information
Code Advice
Charles Anson appointed to the PCC

Charles Anson appointed to the PCC

Lord Hunt, the Chair of the Press Complaints Commission, has announced the appointment of Charles Anson as a public Commissioner, following an open and advertised appointments process of five new public Commissioners started a year ago. Charles Anson served for seven years as Press Secretary to HM The Queen and worked in the Downing Street Press Office for two Prime Ministers, James Callaghan and Margaret Thatcher. He is a past Director of Communications for three FTSE 100 quoted companies, Kleinwort Benson, Grand Met and The Hilton Group. He joins the Commission with immediate effect following the expiry of a term of office by Ian Nichol.

Lord Hunt said:

"We are extremely pleased to welcome Charles Anson onto the Commission. The present period is one of change and transition into a new more robust and rigorous system of independent self-regulation for the newspaper and magazine industry. Charles has a distinguished record of public service and experience in the private sector: his counsel and guidance at this time of great change will be invaluable. I also wish to record my thanks to Ian Nichol for his hard work and service as public Commissioner over the last six years."

Charles Anson said:

"I applied to be a member of the Commission a year ago because I wanted to play my part in the important public service it offers. The PCC's work dealing with complaints and helping individuals to achieve redress is rightly recognised as valuable. I am looking forward to using my experience to contribute both to this important work, and to the necessary transition to a new system of press regulation in this country".


Notes to editors:

1. Public, or 'lay', members of the Commission are appointed by a process of open recruitment, including public advertisement and interview. The recruitment process is overseen by an external independent assessor. Full details of the application process, and a copy of the job advert and description, can be seen here.
2. There are seventeen members of the Commission. Ten members - including the Chair - are lay Commissioners who have no connection to the industry, while seven are drawn from among the ranks of senior editors in the national and regional press, and from periodicals.
3. The most recent recruitment process took place early last year following advertisement in the national and regional press (see above) and over 3000 individuals applied for these posts. Charles Anson is the fifth public member to join the Commission from that appointments process. The others are: Lord Grade of Yarmouth CBE, Jeremy Roberts QC, Michael Smyth CBE and Neil Watts.
4. For more information, please contact Jonathan Collett on 020 7438 1246 or 07740 896805.

<< Go Back