The Commission

  • ../media/images/commission/peta_buscombe_l.jpg
  • ../media/images/commission/ian_nichol_l.jpg
  • ../media/images/commission/john_robertson_l.jpg
  • ../media/images/commission/esther_roberton_l.jpg
  • ../media/images/commission/ian_macGregor_l.jpg
  • ../media/images/commission/ian_walden_l.jpg
  • ../media/images/commission/matti_alderson_l.jpg
  • ../media/images/commission/simon_reynolds_l.jpg
  • ../media/images/commission/simon_sapper_l.jpg
  • ../media/images/commission/anthony_longden_l.jpg
  • ../media/images/commission/john_mcLellan_l.jpg
  • ../media/images/commission/peter_wright_l.jpg
  • ../media/images/commission/julie_spence_l.jpg
  • ../media/images/commission/unknown01_l.jpg
  • ../media/images/commission/tina_weaver_l.jpg
  • ../media/images/commission/lindsay_nicholson_l.jpg
  • ../media/images/commission/unknown02_l.jpg

All Commissioners bring their own personal expertise to the PCC, coming from different backgrounds and with different experiences.

Cases brought before the Commission are discussed at length and different Commissioners put forward their own understanding and opinion. Rulings are reached by consensus following discussion.

There are 10 public members, including the Chairman, who have no connection to the industry. The 7 editors on the Commission - brought in to provide industry knowledge and the weight of peer judgement - are in the minority to ensure the independence of the PCC.

Following the independent review of the PCC's governance, a new Nominations Committee of the Commission has now been instituted by the PCC to handle appointments; this replaces the Appointments Commission which was previously in operation throughout 2010. The Nominations Committee consists of three lay members, including the Chairman of the PCC (who is Chairman of the Nominations Committee). An independent assessor has been appointed from outside the PCC to ensure the selection process of lay members is robust and fair in accordance with sound diversity and equal opportunities principles.

The two vacancies for public Commission members were recently filled by Lord Grade of Yarmouth CBE and Michael Smyth CBE.

There is more information about the Nominations Committee - including information about membership - here.

The PCC would like to record its sincere thanks to the following members of the Appointments Commission who served in 2010.

‒ The Chairman of the Press Standards Board of Finance (Lord Black of Brentwood);

‒ Andrew Phillips OBE (Lord Phillips of Sudbury);

‒ Lord Evans of Temple Guiting CBE; and

‒ Dr Elizabeth Vallance (Lady Vallance of Tummel).

The Rt Rev John Waine, who served as a member of the Commission during 2010, retired after a lengthy and dedicated service. We would like to take this opportunity to thank him for his work.

The PCC now publishes the minutes of its meetings so as to be more open about its processes. It also has an online register of interests.